to my readers

This blog is now all about my personal life, including updates concerning Jerry's health. For quilt and pattern related posts please visit HillbillyQuiltShop.blogspot.com

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Total Sadness

That's what it was. You all know how excited I was to go to the class today.

Well, I got all dressed up. I drove 38.6 miles to take the boys to their sister so she could watch them. Back this way another 11.4 miles to the shop. To hear...well I'll tell you in a moment. Then another 11.4 miles back to my daughters to pick up the boys. Then another 38.6 miles back home. Did you add that up? Almost 100 miles. Normally we guard our gas money very closely but this was one of my May for ME things to try this class--at least one time to see what it was like.

Bah humbug and all that.

They cancelled the class. The emailed all the participants. Except me. You know,  I'm the new one. They didn't look in the sign up book for new participants. They just emailed the regulars.

It was kind of frustrating from the get go because when I went in...it went kind of like this (and it was almost exactly as I wrote it):

Them: "Oh, you were supposed to sign up."
Me: "I did. In the notebook."
Them: "Well then you should have been sent a supply list."
Me: "No, but I did give my email when I signed up"
Them: "We get our wires crossed sometimes. It's no big deal. Your teacher is _____________ and she is always late but you'll have a really fun time. Just go have a seat and they will be here soon".
Me: I go sit. And sit. for 25 minutes. Why oh why didn't I bring my Ahhhh to work on since it was supposed to be published today?
A different Them: "We are so sorry but she cancelled the class. She emailed everyone but you because you are new. You need to sign up in the book"
Me: "I did sign up in the book, I left my email address and I paid"
Them (to the other them and not to me): "Where is the art quilt club book?" "I don't know, haven't seen it" "We need to see if she's in there" "She says she is I just don't know where the book is"
Me: "Here, here's my business card with my email address on it. You can check it with your book"

I left. I was sad. I was truly sad about the HUGE waste of gas. I seriously doubt I'll go back.

30 comments:

Michelle said...

I hope they gave you a refund... that sounds very disappointing! Big hugs

Teresa F. said...

I think they are quite disorganized and were even a bit rude to you. I hope they will refund you.

Christine M said...

How disappointing for you. They were a bit rude to you. I wouldn't go back either.

Sunnybec said...

That is bad, and not nice, and like the other comments..very rude, maybe put it down to experience and see how you feel next week before you make a decision. Big Hugs x

Jan-Maree said...

I must say if it were me I would have been very disappointed and not very impressed with their manners - they owe you a refund and apology. I would consider calling the manager/owner as long as she wasn't one of those on the day

Belinda said...

I'm so sorry you had such a disappointing experience. What a mess! Bah humbug is right!

Fiona said...

very poor service.... I can imagine how disappointing...
Hugz

JustPam said...

Not a good way for them to get and keep customers. Not only do they owe you a refund but they should have given you something complementary for all the trouble they put you through.

Catskill Quilter said...

So sorry that this happened to you today! It is such a disappointment.

Colleen said...

I too am so careful with my gas. Im sorry they were so inconsiderate to you! They should have at least offered you a fat quarter or two for your trouble. I dont think I would go back there again.

Joy said...

I think the teacher also should be accountable for verifying she has the latest sign up names... Everyone dropped the ball here except you! I definitely think that if it is rescheduled, it should be free for you and you should be offered a few fat quarters to make sincere amends. But that's just me. I'm so sorry that happened to you!

Kate Brown said...

Oh, that had to be a huge dissapointment. Add to that their rudeness. They definatey need to refund your money and give you a gift cert for all your trouble. What a horrible waste. I am so sorry.

Leah said...

Oh no! Sounds frustrating. Hope you got your $5 back. Doesn't sound like they had great customer service on their mind either....

Hope the rest of you day went well

The Slow Quilter said...

That was sooo un professional, and you kepts your cool. Good for you, sad about the class.

Marcia - Crafty Sewing and Quilting said...

Sorry to hear about the class. You were so excited about going. That was very unprofessional of them. You need to get your $5.00 back or you be the bigger person and give it another try --- but call them first and get it confirmed that there is a class!
Hope you have a better day tomorrow!

Sheila said...

Good grief. I know what you mean ... the price of gas, 100 miles, dealing with the children. I'm sorry this happened to you. You were looking forward to the class.

Dora, the Quilter said...

I worked for a chain of fabric stores where the employees did things like that--both to me, the teacher, and to the customers.

The stores went out of business--very sad!

elliek said...

Sad face for you Tonya. I know how much you were looking forward to the class and I too would be a bit upset about the waste of time and petrol money. Hope that something good comes your way soon. You deserve something spectacular.

Pat said...

What a rotten thing to happen.
I would be inclined to write to the manager of the store, expressing how excited you were, all the arrangements you made and then how disappointed you felt - including at the off hand manner in which you were treated.
If it does nothing else, it will make them aware of what people do go through to get to a class.

I'm so sorry Tonya, I know how much you were looking forward to this.
*hugs* xx

QuiltSue said...

If the manager wasn't one of "them" I would write and complain about your treatment. In fact, even if she was one of "them" I would write and complain. That was appalling, and so disorganised. It sounds as if they don't know what they're doing if they didn't even know at first that the class had been cancelled.

I'm so sorry though, that was such a disappointment, and shouldn't have been allowed during your May for Me month!

VickiT said...

Oh no Tonya! How frustrating for you and yea, they are obviously not overly organized there. I'd see for sure if there is someone higher in authority to complain to about all the gas you wasted and how you could barely afford that in the first place. They probably won't refund the gas money but maybe they'll be nice and 'pay' you back with fabric. :) Sure can't hurt to ask. You know they say that when making a complaint you will most often just get an I'm sorry, unless you ASK for what you want. All they can do is say no, right?

PS ~ I just sent you an email and didn't read this until after sending it so now I look like an idiot. I asked you how your class was. DUH ME!

Linda said...

Oh Tonya! I'm so sorry the class was a disappointment! Huggs! I know how much you were looking forward to it. I think you should call the manager and get a refund.

beaquilter said...

oh boo hoo! okay that deserves an extra FQ!! more than that... that totally stinks, get your money back and don't go back, at least not for a while.
so if your car is maybe 25miles per gallon, that's 4 gallons, that's at least $15! SIGH.... so sorry :-(

Margaret said...

Man,that really is a bummer. I know one of the shops by me cancels their classes at the last minute and it makes me mad that I wasted the time to drive there and not get the class. Better luck next time I hope. Don't give up on taking classes they really are a lot of fun and you get to meet the neatest people.

Angie said...

Oh My Goodness, Friend!

Well, you did have some much earned quiet time to yourself which is always nice. . .sorry I was trying to reach for something . . . :(

Carrie P. said...

bummer! I hope you make sure you get your money back. Too many miles to drive for such a disappointment.

Sally said...

I'm so sorry this happened. Even if they refund the fee you're still out the gas and time. What a bummer. Buying 2 fat quarters today should help!!

Janet said...

I wouldn't go back and they should refund your money. And you should let everyone you know about it so they don't sign up and waste their money too. Shabby!

Mary L. said...

How totally unprofessional not to mention rude!

Carla said...

I know poop happens but somehow that all seemed very unprofessional. I mean to just kinda blow it off like no big deal was rude of them. I too hope you got a refund. I guess they don't know that you just might put them in your blog. ;o)
By the way do you know where Trenton is? That's my hometown.